RSS

Faith-full Friday!

09 Dec

I will praise the Lord at all times.
      I will constantly speak his praises.  –Psalm 34:1

It’s FFFrridddaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyyyy!!!

Just that little phrase tends to bring a smile to my face.  Friday brings the promise of rest, relaxation, and fun.  It just makes you step a little lighter, smile a little brighter, feel a little more cheerful.  The light at the end of the tunnel has shown itself and you realize you are gonna make it.

Around this time of year, everyday is busy.  There just doesn’t seem to be enough time in the day to get things done.  Although it’s a fun time of year, it is also stressful.  For others, the stress comes from trials they are facing.  The holidays can take a toll on those who are dealing with broken relationships, financial problems, or the loss of a loved one.

Last year, my family was dealing with the loss of my step-dad.  We were just happy to survive the holiday season.  Our hearts were too heavy.  The loss was so close to Christmas, we were in shock.  It seemed unreal.  This past year has been so hard.  This year, the reality of the loss is upon us.  And although we ARE excited about the holidays, there still remains a sadness, a cloud that is there.  Our family is incomplete.

This week, it seems tragedy has been all around our small rural area.  Three children perished in a house fire.  A beloved father lost to a heart attack.  Serious illnesses have befallen several families.  I don’t understand all that has happened.  I don’t understand or know why.  But I do know that God is in control.  And He is holding those left behind in his hands.  I know that although I may not ever see the big picture, He does.  He knows the pain we suffer.  After all, His own son died a horrible death…..for me and for you.

I will choose to trust Him.  To lean on Him.  And to praise Him.

Today, I will choose to have faith that He has our best interests at heart.  I will choose to have faith in His plan, even if I do not understand it.  Today, I will choose to have faith in the plan He has for MY life…. faith enough to step out and follow.  Today, I will choose to lean on Him for comfort, peace, and even joy.  Because to know Him is to be loved unconditionally.  To know Him is to be full of faith.  Full of hope.

Today, I will thank Him.  Praise Him!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 9, 2011 in Daily Devotions

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “Faith-full Friday!

  1. Angie

    December 9, 2011 at 9:42 am

    Amen! Well said. 😉

     

Leave a Reply

 
