RSS

On His Mind

06 Dec

Have you ever had someone you just couldn’t get off your mind? 

Maybe a crush on a boy or girl in high school.  You wasted vast amounts of time writing their name on paper with hearts and swirls?  You daydream about the moment that this person realizes you are THE ONE for them and you live happily ever after.  You try to focus on schoolwork, spend time with friends, but really all you want to do, all you can do is think about HIM/HER.

Maybe you remember those first months of courtship with your spouse.  The feeling that you need to spend every waking moment with them.  When they are not with you, you feel like something is truly missing.  You spend your time thinking about them.  Looking forward to seeing them again.  Planning that next date, that next moment, and even a future together.

What about the expectation of that baby on the way?  You long to hold it, to cuddle it, rock it.  You spend hours and hours planning the nursery.  Reading and learning how to take the absolute best care of that baby to come.  You are consumed with thoughts about the baby.  Everything revolves around the baby.

Or maybe it’s someone who is going through a trial or a tragedy.  Somehow it touches you so deeply, you actually hurt for them.  You think about what they are going through.  How it could be you or your family.  You worry about how they are coping.  How they are making it.  How you could help them.  No matter how hard you try, they creep their way back to the forefront of your mind.

Although I have experienced all of these things at one time or another, it’s nothing compared to God’s thoughts for us.  The Bible tells us that He thinks precious thoughts about us.  So many they can’t be numbered….even more than the grains of sand.  The God of the universe.  The creator of the heavens and the earth.  Thinks infinite thoughts of ME.  He loves me enough to be concerned with me enough to think of me and be with me always.

How precious are your thoughts about me, O God.
      They cannot be numbered!
  I can’t even count them;
      they outnumber the grains of sand!
   And when I wake up,
      you are still with me!   –Psalm 139:17-18

When I really think about the magnitude of this scripture.  The reality of its meaning.  I can’t help but be humbled before God.  All those worries I have, all those thoughts I have, each step I take.  He is there.  When I love Him, He is there.  When I grieve Him, He is there.  Thinking of me.  Knowing the Almighty cares about me enough to think of me over and over and over again, just makes me want to please Him. Serve Him.  Love Him.

Today, as you go about your day, remember that God is thinking of you.  He is there.  He is concerned about you.  He cares about you.  He loves you.  With Him by your side, you can handle anything life throws at you!


Enhanced by Zemanta
 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 6, 2011 in Daily Devotions

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “On His Mind

  1. Boy Mom Blogger

    December 6, 2011 at 12:29 pm

    really good post! I could relate…

     
  2. Sunshine

    December 26, 2011 at 2:52 pm

    Thank you. Always need reminders like this. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
