RSS

Bring on the Rain!

22 Nov

 

I woke this morning to raindrops dancing on the roof.  It started slow and gentle and quickly turned into the bottom falling from the sky.

A day of rain means the kids will be cooped up in the house.  My hair will be a huge ball of frizz.  And it will be difficult to get out and run errands.  The day will be dreary.  But, all I could think was, “Thank you, Jesus.”

We have been in a drought here in Texas.  Our lakes are drying up.  We have been under a burn ban most of the year.  Our state has been plagued with devastating fires.

Let the bottom fall out.  Bring on the rain.

I began to think about how I really don’t care for rain….. until we are stuck in a drought.  In fact, I can get sick of rain quickly.  I get frustrated with it totally messing up any chance of a decent hair day.  The puppy is restless and frightened of rain.  If said rainstorm comes with thunder and lightning, the baby boy gets restless and frightened.  My back yard turns to a big mud hole after a lot of rain.  It makes travel, especially after long periods without it, dangerous.  And have you ever tried to watch a football or baseball game in the rain?  Yuck.  But we cannot do without it.  Even though it’s inconvenient at times and maybe even downright annoying, we desperately need it for our land.  Those raindrops bring a smile to my face.  Because I know that even through the storm, blessings are coming.

The storms of life are like that.  They mess up our plans,  put a cloud of dreariness over us, and and are even frightening.  But God uses those storms in life to pull us closer to Him.  I am not only reminded of His presence, but I run to Him.  I suddenly need Him more, so I seek Him more.  I am more aware of His arms wrapped around me.  I draw to Him.  He is my shelter.  My peace.  And ultimately I grow in my relationship with Him.  The storms of my life give me all the MORE reason to praise Him.  The storms of life prepare me for the plans He has ahead.

The LORD himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.   —- Deuteronomy 31:8

The past few weeks have been difficult.  I am weathering a storm and it is taking it’s toll on me.  Partly because it’s not just MY storm.  It’s my child’s as well.  Sometimes you feel like all you do is fight to keep your head above water.  To survive.  Sometimes the storm just doesn’t make any sense at all to me.  And when it’s happening to an innocent child, it is even harder to see the purpose. It would be very easy to fall into anger.  But, I just can’t.  I won’t.  Because I know that God is using this storm, no matter how bad it is, to bring me closer to Him.  To fulfill His plan, even when I cannot see it.  Or understand it.  I have faith that there is a purpose for the pain.  I know that through this awful time, blessings will come.  I will learn to dance in the rain. Praise Him through the storm.

So today, I say bring on the rain.  I know that through my struggle, through my pain, the Lord is mighty to save.  He will carry me through it.  And I will be closer to Him.  And all that love, all the comfort He has for me, He has for my child as well.  He can comfort his little soul so much more than I can even attempt.  And I just know that He has great plans for us.  So today, I am thankful for the storms in my life.  I am even thankful for the storms in my child’s life.

If you are weathering one of life’s storms, I plead with you to draw to Him.  Give Him the opportunity show His greatness, His glory, His power in your life.  He is almighty.  He is in control.  And He holds you in His hands.  And that makes the pain and fear the storm brings worth it.

Bring on the rain!

 

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 22, 2011 in Daily Devotions

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “Bring on the Rain!

  1. akateacher

    November 23, 2011 at 7:30 am

    You have put to words what I so often try to remind myself of. We are to rejoice and be thankful for our tribulations. I’ll be saying a little prayer for you and yours, that He guides you through the storm you’re in.

    God bless!

     

Leave a Reply

 
