RSS

Enthusiasm Mandatory

18 Nov

Whatever you do, do it enthusiastically, as something done for the Lord and not for men.       —-Colossians 3:23 HCSB

Have you ever met someone who is always smiling?  Always pleasant?  Always perky?

What about the perpetual grump?  No matter how good things are, they can always find something to gripe and moan about?

Who would you rather spend time with?

You see, our attitudes are contagious.  They spread like a stomach virus in an elementary school.  No matter how hard you try to shield yourselves from negativity, it has an effect on you.  On your outlook.  On your attitude.  On your day.  Even on how you relate to others.  Your attitude and outlook can be poison to others and to yourself.  It effects everything you do.

The Bible tells us whatever we do, do it enthusiastically.  As if we are doing it for the Lord.

That’s all fine and good, but ……Whatever we do?  Everything? Even chores?  Even work?  Even the mundane?  Truth be told, I often do things out of sheer obligation.  Not because I want to…. I just can’t say I enthusiastically do the laundry.  Or wash dishes.   Well, you get the picture.

I decided to look up enthusiasm to see just what this means.  Surely when I go about my chores, I don’t need to flit around like Mary Poppins?

Enthusiasm = optimism, devotion, eagerness, conviction, fervor, zeal

Ouch.  Although I’m not convinced flitting in Mary Poppins fashion is mandatory, it is mandatory to do whatever is set before us with zeal and optimism and devotion and eagerness.

I’m pretty sure this cancels out a poor attitude.  Even working with apathy.  The Bible says I must care.  I must be eagerly devoted to everything I do, not just my play and recreation, but everything.   I must do it as if I was doing it for God personally.  Yes, that even means the laundry.

So, today, as I wash another mountain of laundry, scrub a few toilets, mop the floors, and cook dinner for the family….. Today, when I go to send off the payment for that ticket I got last week…… Today, when I go wash the van for our upcoming trip, I will work with an optimistic attitude.

And you know, I believe God’s love will have the optimum opportunity to shine through my life.  And isn’t that why we are here?  To share God’s love?

Today, I challenge you to do all you do enthusiastically.  I bet others notice.  People will wonder where your joy comes from.  It will give you an opportunity to show God’s love.  To witness without words.   And it just might do your heart good, too.

Happy Friday, ya’ll!

Enhanced by Zemanta
 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 18, 2011 in Daily Devotions

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Enthusiasm Mandatory

  1. akateacher

    November 21, 2011 at 7:30 am

    How often we go about our lives out of “obligation”. There is a gentleman at our church who has told us on a number of occasions that he is the only one who can determine whether he is going to have a good day or a bad one. And most days he determines that he is going to have a good one because of God’s grace to him!

     
    • Robin

      November 21, 2011 at 10:27 pm

      What a great perspective! It’s easy to allow our circumstances dictate our joy. It’s important to remember where our joy comes from!

       

Leave a Reply

 
