RSS

Monday ~ Funday!

14 Nov
Monday ~ Funday!

Yay for Monday!

I know.  Crazy, right??

But after having a less than best weekend, I welcome Monday with open arms.  I welcome the mundane everyday.  The routine.  The stability that it brings.  I reached my maximum stress potential before Monday ever arrived, so even when it means school work, laundry, and housework……  Yay for Monday!

In fact, I am so excited about some normalcy, I decided to share.  Yay for you!  I know you are excited.  Well, if you’re still reading.  Anyway, I have a busy day ahead.  It SHOULD look something like this………

I don’t think I’ve shared anything concerning our small family farm.  Well, it’s really more my hubby and my father-in-love’s farm, but we reap the benefits.  We have 7 goats, about 50 chickens, 10 cats, 2 dogs, and 7 cows.  We go through cycles with the chickens, so we are just now getting eggs again.

That means I’m overloaded with fresh, yummy eggs…..so you guessed it.  Omelettes are what’s for breakfast around here.  Today’s omelette was a conglomeration of ingredients we all like.  I threw them all together and it turned out great.  The kids were bickering over seconds.   It consisted of ham, onions, red and green bell peppers, mushrooms, cheese, and spinach….and of course, lots of eggs!  Eat with salsa for a splash of spice.  YUM!

While the kids work on schoolwork, I have a Christmas hat to finish knitting on the loom.  My 11-year-old started it, but I need the loom back…..and he is S.L.O.W…..and he has lost interest.  So, he wants me to finish it for him…because I’m ‘speedy quick’ at it anyway.  I think he’s just trying to get me to do his dirty work for him.  No, I’m sure of it.  It’s supposed to be a homemade Christmas gift for his dad.  And since I can’t wait to see the hubster wearing a red, green, and white toboggan all over God’s creation, I am more than happy to help him out.

Baby boy needs more time for playing Beanie Baby Football anyway.

Yes, I said Beanie Baby Football.  This weekend, we hit the Beanie Baby jackpot on our yard sale expedition.  Twenty five cents got us a practically brand new Ty Beanie Baby….tags and all.  I think we bought them out.   Don’t get me wrong, we are in no way collectors.  My boys (puppy included) LOVE to play with them.  They have now invented Beanie Baby Football.  I don’t know how it works or understand the game, but it keeps them busy for hours.

Lastly, because Mondays are usually long, torturous days….and we’ve had enough of those types of days to last for a while…..I decided today would be perfect for decorating the Christmas tree.  Yes, I know.  Thanksgiving isn’t even here yet.  I know, it’s just not fair.  Thanksgiving deserves its fair share of attention, love, and devotion.  And I DO love Thanksgiving.  But once it’s here, I find myself in a vortex of busy-ness.  Christmas looms like a lion ready to attack.  I barely have time to get packages wrapped, much less decorate the tree.

In an effort to maintain my sanity (you know if momma ain’t happy…), we decorate before Thanksgiving so we are ready for the whirlwind ahead.  So, today is Christmas Tree Monday.  This evening, after pulling all my hair out getting through the school day, we will decorate our tree.  Complete with homemade hot chocolate and Christmas music.  After my road trip last week with my church lady friends, I feel less than adequate at decorating a tree.  But I thought if I were to post a before pic of this pitiful tree, it would make my finished tree look like a masterpiece.  It’s a tall, skinny tree because we have lots of bodies, lots of furniture, and we don’t have room for lots of tree. We are calling it the Leaning Tower of Tree.  For now.  Tomorrow it will be a work of art.  Um, kind of.  Sort of.  Beauty is in the eye of the beholder after all.

Leaning Tower of Tree

For all of you humbugs out there, don’t worry.  We will still add to our ‘Give Thanks’ board tonight.  Thanksgiving and Christmas all rolled up together.  If we don’t kill each other first.  Decorating the tree can get crazy around here with a bunch of boys.  Let’s just say, ornaments get broken when they are used as hand grenades.  You just don’t decorate the tree barefoot.

Thanks, Bernie.  At least I have one for each foot…even if they don’t match!

So you see, Monday HAS to be a fun day.  I can’t have it any other way.  I WON’T have it any other way!  It’s time to get my Monday face on!  Smiles all day.  Happy Monday, Funday, ya’ll!!

Enhanced by Zemanta
 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 14, 2011 in It's my life.....

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Monday ~ Funday!

  1. akateacher

    November 14, 2011 at 10:40 am

    If loving Mondays is a sign of craziness, I’m right there with you! I love my husband dearly, but things are much less hectic when he’s around and I can indulge in my routine! I’m very much a creature of habit and disruptions are chaotic.

    Thank you for sharing!

     
    • Robin

      November 14, 2011 at 2:54 pm

      My life is constant chaos, but sometimes it is organized chaos. And those are treasured moments for sure! Thanks for visiting!

       
  2. Lynn

    November 14, 2011 at 11:12 am

    We started the decorating process yesterday and it will be a week-long project. I usually refuse to do it before TGiving…but since we are going out of town, I want it all done when we get back!! Then we can sit back, relax, and enjoy the whirlwind otherwise known as the holidays! Greg, on the other hand, is notsomuch liking the early decorating, Who am I kidding, he does not not like it no matter when we do it! Scrooge. 🙂

     
    • Robin

      November 14, 2011 at 2:53 pm

      I think it runs in the family! I have a Scrooge, too! He is improving with age, but I still have to ‘encourage’ him along! 😉
      Have FUN on your trip!

       

Leave a Reply

 
