RSS

Hopeful

14 Nov

I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.   ——–John 16:33

And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to his purpose for them.   —-Romans 8:28

I’ve had a rough couple of days.  I have a child with a chronic health condition that is exasperating.  Although this problem is not new for us, it’s still difficult to deal with at times.  A new round of appointments confirmed that he has taken a few steps back.  This means more meds.  More tears.  More frustration.  Even though we have been through this before and had plenty of setbacks in the past, for some reason, it was harder on me than usual.  Probably because he was taking it hard himself.  It is so hard to see your child go through things that are invasive and difficult when you can do nothing to help.  I slipped into a funk over the weekend.  The dread of getting back into the routines ahead were weighing heavy on  my mind and heart.  The dread of dealing with more problems and watching my child hurt completely overtook me.  My heart literally hurt.  I napped.  A lot.  I cried.  No, I bawled.  The waterworks had been turned on and were flowing as if a pipe was broken.   Considering I rarely cry, this was a big deal.  I threw myself a full blown pity party.  I let the sadness, frustration, and fears completely take over.

Finally, I decided it was enough already.  All this crying, all this sadness, made me feel hopeless and helpless.  I opened my Bible and this verse in John is what I found.  I spent the better part of two days feeling sorry for myself.  Feeling sorry for my child.  Wallering in my misery.  I allowed my pity party to steal my peace.  My joy.

Opening my Bible changed it.  Reading God’s word changed my perspective.  Yes, I have troubles.  Yes, my baby boy has more difficult days ahead.  But God is there.  He is in control.  He has overcome the world.  Surely He can handle my problems.  He will carry us through. I know I can trust that good will come from this somehow.  I may be fighting hopeless feelings, but I can be hopeful through Him.  His love never fails.

It was time I stop worrying and hand over my fears, my hopeless feelings to the one who holds the world in His hands.  When we face challenges, trials, troubles, and heartache, it is so important to cling to Him.  In His word.  In prayer.  In worship.  He is a reason to hope, to believe, to sing.  Praise Him!

Enhanced by Zemanta
 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 14, 2011 in Daily Devotions

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Hopeful

  1. JT

    November 14, 2011 at 9:31 am

    I can relate, no I haven’t been bawling …but I wanted to. I went to the woods and tried to get into the word , well let’s just say I didn’t get to the place you did , but seeing you get there well maybe hope for me is closer than it appears, as your pic alluded to.

     
    • Robin

      November 14, 2011 at 2:57 pm

      I feel somewhat like a yo-yo…….I bob back and forth at times. Today, I’m closer to hope! I’m thankful for that because my pity party was NO fun at all! I wish you well on your journey. Peace is priceless!

       
  2. Bev

    November 14, 2011 at 5:18 pm

    Robin, my heart hurts for you and I am praying for you and all of your family, I have had an extemely hard year too and I have learned and grew so much that I can not believe I even got thru it, let alone grow. Hang in there because you have alot of support from you family and church family. You are such an inspiration to alot of people but it is OK not to be strong all the time. God really is in controll!!!!!!!!!

     
    • Robin

      November 14, 2011 at 6:11 pm

      Awww, thanks, Ms. Beverly! We had a MUCH better day today, thankfully! I appreciate your support and love more than you know! I’m sorry to know you have had a rough time too. Life can be so hard sometimes. I don’t know how people make it without friends, family, and the good Lord! Thanks so much for the encouragement. =)

       

Leave a Reply

 
