RSS

Road Trip Blues

12 Nov

Home again, home again, jiggety-jig.

I have spent the past three days playing chauffeur.  Two and a half hours on the road Wednesday.  Six hours on Thursday.  Six plus hours Friday.  I’m dragging booty.  My patooty is completely worn out.  All this driving also included the company of 3 boys in the back and Killa (my mom) in the front.

Spending that much time on the road is mundane.  Monotonous.  Plain ole boring.  At least for the driver.  When you’re driving you can’t browse the sale papers or work crossword puzzles.  You can’t watch Avatar in the back seat with your feet propped up, randomly running your grungy toes through your driver’s hair.  Gross.  You can’t even listen to music thanks to the Avatar junkies in the back seat.  And that is one LONG movie.

Cover of "Avatar (Two-Disc Blu-ray/DVD Co...

Cover via Amazon

So, you resort instead, to playing games.  And since the lazy bums you are hauling are all being entertained,  you resort to playing goofy games….like Banana.  Or Slug Bug.  Or both.  Alone.  But that was ok.  I was winning!

 

I guess they couldn’t let me win, so they jumped in and changed the game.  The simple game of Banana (calling and counting yellow vehicles) was changed to a special Christmas edition.  I should copyright it.  I could make a million.  Suddenly bananas were jingle bells, red cars were Santa Claus, silver….silver bells, green….elves….white…snowflakes, brown….reindeer poop…I could go on and on.  We are a creative bunch.  Keeping score was a bit difficult.  And there are tons of snowflakes (white cars).  When we came to a lot of those, we called it a blizzard and received massive scores.

It wasn’t long until I was completely worn out….and getting hoarse.  So, game over.  With smiles and smirks they all went back to their movies, crossword puzzles, and naps.  That’s when I realized it was just a ploy to get me to stop interrupting their fun.   And it worked.  I was back to driving boredom. I had the road trip blues.

That’s when I realized I was reliving the song “Seven Little Girls”.   And I wasn’t Fred.

 

 

Being a chauffeur is under-appreciated and definitely over-rated.  But that’s ok.  I’m home now.  Safe and sound.  And it’s chore day.  And Fred is nowhere to be found.

Payback is sweet.  =)

Enhanced by Zemanta
 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 12, 2011 in It's my life.....

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “Road Trip Blues

  1. Isla White

    November 12, 2011 at 11:58 am

    Oh I have those days ahead… My daughter is only 7 but having the seat in the front with her behind already has that taxi feel whilst running her to her various appointments! Seven and they have schedules and places to be… Hope you enjoy the weekend.

     

Leave a Reply

 
