RSS

Is Your Faith Full??

08 Nov

Ivan Aivazovsky's painting Walking on Water (1888)

Image via Wikipedia

Jesus immediately reached out and grabbed him. “You have so little faith,” Jesus said. “Why did you doubt me?”    —Matthew 14:22-33 NLT

I’m sure most have heard the story about Jesus walking on water…..  While Jesus was on the mountainside praying, a storm came and the disciples were caught up in the fury of the waves.  Jesus walked out on the water to get to them.  Of course, SEEING Jesus walking on water wasn’t enough to convince them of the power of God.  They cried out that it was a ghost!  Peter, still not believing it was Jesus, even after He reassured them of who He was, asked Jesus to prove it was Him.  “Call me out on the water,” he asked.   Again, lacking faith, belief.   Needing proof.   Jesus did, and as Peter began to walk on water, fear overcame him and he began to sink.  He cried out to Jesus, who as usual, came to the rescue and pulled him from the water.   His response to Peter is our verse for today.

All too often, I find myself in Peter’s shoes.  Not quite believing in the ultimate power of God.  Sure, I say I believe.  I even DO believe…on a small level.  But my faith stops short of the big things.  My faith….or lack thereof, prevents me so often from following God’s calling on my life.  Instead of putting my faith COMPLETELY in Him.  In His power.  In His timing.  In His plan….. I begin to listen to myself instead.  It’s too hard.  There is no way it will work.  I can’t do it.

Not only do I listen to those voices in my head, I entertain them and allow them to dictate what I will or will not do for Christ.  If I am to grow in my relationship with Him, I must STOP listening to this nonsense!  God will call you out of the comfortable.  He will call you to do things that you feel you cannot do.  If His calling on our life were easy, we wouldn’t really need Him, would we?  When I have to lean on Him, depend on Him to achieve His plan for my life, His glory is shown.

Do you have something today you feel called of God to do?  How strong is your faith?  Do you believe he can make a way where the human eye can see none?  It’s time we stop selling God short.  Start believing Him for His promises, His power, and His word.  We need to be FAITH—FULL.

He can do ANYTHING He sets his mind to do. 

But we must have faith.  We must let go of doubt. 

We must choose to listen to HIM….and BELIEVE. 

Enhanced by Zemanta
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 8, 2011 in Daily Devotions

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
