RSS

Thrown Away?

03 Nov

I have a huge walk-in closet, the length of my bedroom.  Yet, it is overflowing with clothes, shoes, and purses.  I decided it was time to get rid of some of this junk.  I started with clothes.  I began to toss clothes right and left.  They were useless to me.  I never wore them and probably never would.  So out they went.

Next, I pulled out a few tubs of purses.  Yes, a few tubs.  I LOVE purses.  And although my new stay-at-home mom lifestyle no longer allows for me to buy a new purse each month, I still LOVE purses.  So, I started going through them, one at a time.  I began to search through each one, looking for anything useful or valuable inside.

As I picked up each one, memories began to flood my mind with the things going on in my life at the time I carried this purse.  Even though I knew I would probably get very little use out of these old purses (I rarely re-use a purse), I couldn’t bear to toss them out.  Each had it’s own value in my eyes.  Pockets right where they needed to be.  The perfect straps for carrying.  Beauty in their design.  I just couldn’t do it.  I tried my best to talk myself into it.  After all, as beautiful or useful as they COULD be, they weren’t.   These purses were of no use to me sitting in the closet in a plastic tub.

As I put the tubs back into the closet, I wondered if that is how God sometimes feels about us.  So many times,  I go about my merry way, living my life for me…..of no use to God.  Although I have some great qualities and characteristics,  so often I choose to sit in hiding.  Not being useful to God.

For I have chosen you
      and will not throw you away.
Don’t be afraid, for I am with you.
      Don’t be discouraged, for I am your God.
   I will strengthen you and help you.
      I will hold you up with my victorious right hand.  –Isaiah 41:9b-10

The Bible tells us, as believers, we are chosen by God.  He will not throw us away.  He sees the value in our lives and in our hearts even when we don’t.  I believe people get frightened of living for God.  What might they have to give up, what sacrifices might He ask me to make for Him?  They immediately dismiss the idea because it might be hard.  They focus on their fears and failures and forget their value in Christ’s eyes.  They allow Satan to discourage them into believing they are useless.  Hopeless.  Weak.

This is why it is so important to stay in God’s word.  To see what He says.  He will not throw you away.  No matter how useless you may be for His kingdom at the moment.  His love is too great for tossing you out.  He can help you overcome your fears and failures.  He has mighty plans for you to further His kingdom.  He will give you the strength you need to stop listening to Satan’s lies.  But you have to come out of hiding. You have to make a commitment to live for Him.  Walk with Him.  Lean on Him.

Each day as I learn more and more by reading His word, I am amazed at His love for us.  Considering the vast number of people walking this earth, it would be so easy for Him to throw me away.  He doesn’t need me.  He has no reason to love me.  There are plenty of people He can use.  He DOES love me, WANT me, has PLANS for me.  The truth is, he knows the number of hairs on my head.  My name is engraved in the palm of His hand.  If I am that important to Him, loved that much by Him, how can I not want to live for Him? 

What lies has Satan told you that you believe?

Do you live a life useful to God?  Or are you like my old purses, tucked away in my closet, full of beauty and usefulness, but hiding?

God’s love for you is there.  His plan for you is there.  Claim it and cling to it!

Enhanced by Zemanta
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 3, 2011 in Daily Devotions

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
