RSS

I’m a Masterpiece!

27 Oct

For we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus,

so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago.

—Ephesians 2:10

77 cm × 53 cm

Image via Wikipedia

The Mona LisaThe Michelangelo.  The Sistine Chapel.

All masterpieces.

The absolute best of man’s artistry.

Mount Everest north face from Ronguk monastery...
Niagra Fall (Closeup)

Image by williams_jt via Flickr

Image via Wikipedia

The Grand CanyonNiagra FallsMount Everest.

All natural masterpieces.

The absolute best of God’s handiwork.  His artistry.

Never, not even once, have I thought of  myself as a masterpiece.  Yet, the Bible tells us it is true.

When we accept Christ, we are created new.  We are His masterpiece.  He creates in us a new, clean heart that is equipped for His work.

Me.  A masterpiece of God’s work.  Equipped to bring Him glory through working for Him.

All too often, I feel tired, worn out, and just useless.  I spend too much time focused on my fears and failures.  I allow my weaknesses to keep me from working for Him.

God doesn’t want to use somebody like me.  I have too much baggage.  Too many mess-ups.  If I try to work for him, what will others say?  With all I’ve done, I will be the talk of the town.

To my ears, it sounds like a good excuse.  These are lies spoon fed to us by Satan.

The Bible tells us we are equipped for God’s work.  We are capable to do what He has called us to do.  God knows all our errors.  He knows our sinful hearts.  He knows every little detail about you.  Yet, he calls you His masterpiece.  He says you are able to work for Him.  No excuses.  Failure is not an option.

I look around me and see the passion in people.

Football.  Shopping.  Baseball.  Having Fun.  Hunting.  Basketball.  Fishing.  Crafting.  Raising kids.

Things we are not only passionate about, but we love and serve most in life.  And it makes us happy to do so.

What if we matched that passion, that excitement, that zeal with our passion for God?

What if we invested as much time and energy into our relationship with God?

This morning, as I read this verse.  I realized, I have no excuse.  I am fearfully and wonderfully made.  All my mistakes.  All my sin.  It’s all covered by the blood of Jesus.  God has equipped me with the strength and skills I need to live a life of purpose for Him.

It’s time to step up.

Enhanced by Zemanta
 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 27, 2011 in Daily Devotions

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “I’m a Masterpiece!

Leave a Reply

 
