RSS

Welcome Back, Old Friends

26 Oct

Tonight, I am supposed to be getting my bags packed for a quick trip to Houston tomorrow.  My mom and I are going to a wake.  Although this trip has been spurred on by the sadness of the loss of a friend, it will be nice to take a break from the everyday.  Any time away from the kids gives a welcome break.

We leave early in the morning.  Yet, here I sit, reading blogs, checking Facebook, strolling through today’s pins on Pinterest.  As if I have nothing to do.

Image representing Facebook as depicted in Cru...

Image via CrunchBase

Nothing is packed.  In fact, I’m not even sure what clothes I am taking, what shoes I will wear.

I don’t even know if my traveling PJs are clean.  Or if the tee that matches them is clean.  Or where to find matching house shoes,  thanks to that puppy of mine.

It’s 8:30pm.   I drive out in less than 12 hours.

And I’ve got NOTHING.

I thought about getting busy and getting after my packing so I can actually get some sleep tonight and be rested for the drive. I even began the process (in my mind) of thinking through what I might wear.

8:45.  NOTHING.

But then I remembered I have a new purse.

A stylish, brown purse.

Of course, I can think of nothing to wear that matches this purse.  Well, that’s not completely true.  I can think of nothing I WANT to wear that matches.  And if I take the brown purse, then I have to wear brown.  My brown clothes aren’t very dressy.  I don’t want to be too casual.  I’m going to a wake.

9:00 and NOTHING has been packed.

Then, I begin to think about what jewelry I want to wear.  And although I really have no idea what jewelry I WANT to wear, I just know that it won’t match the brown purse…. Which I am now madly in LOVE with.  I wonder if I have enough extra money to buy a new outfit, with new jewelry that will match the purse.

9:15 and I’ve still got  NOTHING.

The one thing I’m sure of is the brown purse.  It’s a done deal.  I’m taking it.

As I begin to think through moving all my treasures into the beautiful brown bag, I realize I have no cash.  I need to go to the ATM so I will have cash for the trip.

ATM at the secretary of state in Portage, MI

Image via Wikipedia

I also need to put out a meal to thaw for tomorrow.  The kids and hubby have to eat while I’m gone.  I ponder over what is easiest.

Then Bernie begins to sniff, and I know that if I don’t get up and take him out, I will definitely be sorry.

9:25.  Yep, you guessed it.  NOTHING.

As I walk through the kitchen, I see dishes piled in the sink.  If I leave them there tonight, they will be there waiting on me still…on Friday.  Two long days later.  YUCK. I better clean the kitchen.

Cleaning the kitchen reminds me that I better wash a load of towels, too.

While putting clothes on, I find a CD in the pocket of a jacket.

9:45.  Nada.  Zilch.  NOTHING.

I head to the car to put the CD away only to realize what an absolute mess it is in.  Yet another chore I need to do.

I run into the house to get a trash bag (I said it was an ABSOLUTE MESS), and I stumble upon my brown purse sitting on the kitchen table.

That’s when it hits me.

 

10:00.  Still NOTHING packed.  NOTHING ready.  NOTHING accomplished.

All I have managed to do is make a mental to-do list that I will never be able to finish.

Welcome back old friend, ADHD.

Glad you brought your buddy Procrastination with you.

Oh, that reminds me.  I pinned something about procrastination on Pinterest…….

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 26, 2011 in It's my life.....

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Welcome Back, Old Friends

  1. Lynn

    October 27, 2011 at 11:53 am

    Oh, boy! Can I EVER relate to this posting!! You just read my mail, girl!! Hope you and Mom got off safely!

     

Leave a Reply

 
