RSS

I am His!

25 Oct

See how very much our Father loves us, for he calls us his children, and that is what we are!

— 1 John 3:1

I work with the youth at my church.  Normally, on Sunday morning I am with them, teaching them.  This Sunday, our skit group had planned to practice at that time.  As it turned out,  only a handful of the group showed to practice.   Since my Sunday School class was already covered, but we couldn’t have skit practice, I jumped into my old Sunday School class.  I love working with the kids, but I also miss the fellowship of the ladies’ class.   It didn’t take me long to figure out, this was God’s hand at work.

I walked into the class to find them watching a video over the 23rd Psalm.  Why is this significant, you ask?  Only a day before my mom, amidst turmoil, randomly opened her Bible and this passage calmed her.  She and I had just discussed this Psalm and how she felt God had intentionally placed it before her.  Now, here I was, placed before it, too.  The video not only spoke to my heart, but I knew God wanted my mom to see this video.  I wanted to cry and shout for joy all at the same time!   The hand of God was working right before my eyes and it is a powerful thing to experience.

That morning, I started out discouraged.  I had arranged for someone else to teach for me so we could have skit practice in anticipation of an upcoming event.  I was discouraged because MY plan didn’t unfold the way I had intended.  God had other plans.  Better plans.  God planned to show His face to me right there.  This was a gentle reminder I needed.

We are God’s children.  It’s difficult for the human heart to truly grasp what that encompasses.  He loves us, as He loved His only Son, Jesus.   There are millions, billions even, on this planet, but He loves ME as if I’m the only one.

As a mom, I ponder over each step my children make, their choices, the path that they are learning to choose for themselves.  I am grieved by even the smallest of poor choices because I know where it might lead.  The smallest victories in their lives bring me unspeakable joy and pride.  My love for them often can cause me physical pain.  It’s more than I can comprehend.

God doesn’t love us like that. 

He loves us  BIGGER!

He loves us BETTER!

He loves us DEEPER!

He loves us INFINITELY MORE than that!

More than we could ever imagine.  My love as a Mom is NOTHING compared to the love Christ has for us.  We are His.  Oh, how my actions and poor choices must grieve His heart.

At the close of the Sunday School class, the teacher asked us to record all the things we have been through this past year.  Look at what all we had gone through….and survived.  Look at all the blessings God has given so freely just in this past year.  It sounds like such a small thing.  But let me tell you, it humbled my heart.  To actually see all the blessings, all the protection during rough circumstances, all the times He carried me through despite my sin.  All the times He loved me, brought me back to Him.

Despite my lack of real appreciation.

Despite my stubbornness, my strong will and disobedience….God has been faithful.

God has been generous.

Kind.  Gracious.  Patient.  Protective.

God has loved me.

I am His child.

Today, find time to make that list for yourself.  Record the blessing and the struggles.  You will find blessings were given through the struggles.  Make time to go to Him, pour out your heart in praise.  He loves you.  He wants to hear from you. 

You are His child.

He is waiting.

Enhanced by Zemanta
 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 25, 2011 in Daily Devotions

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “I am His!

  1. JT

    October 25, 2011 at 11:30 am

    Thanks Robin, I needed this just now 🙂

     
  2. mkultra76

    October 25, 2011 at 12:48 pm

    Whoo-hoo! Praise Him!! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
