RSS

Halloween Haunts…..

24 Oct

 

Halloween is haunting me.

And not in a creepy, who’s gonna jump out of the bushes and get me kinda way.

I have children.  LOTS of children.  Five boys to be exact.  Two are on their own and at college, but three are still here.

Needless to say, taking care of so many children can be expensive.  And this past year, I resigned from my teaching position to stay home and care for my brood.  Saying we are on a budget is a MAJOR understatement!

What does all of this have to do with Halloween haunting me??

We are trying to costume up on a budget.  A tight budget.

Most boys would be happy throwing on some camouflage clothes, grabbing a plastic rifle, painting their face and going as hunters.  Or even wearing their baseball uniform from baseball season.  But not MY boys.  NO.

 

 

My boys want to be the Joker, the Riddler, and the Penguin….all Batman characters.  But not just any Joker, Riddler, and Penguin.  That would be too easy.  They want to be those characters from specific Batman movies.  Yay.

This puts me on a quest from H-E-double hockey sticks.

And an exciting quest it is.  In fact, I feel like Indiana Jones on the quest for the Holy Grail.

 

Just for the record, there isn’t a purple suit jacket within a hundred miles of my small town.  I know.  I have looked. I have worried about this jacket.  I have sat up at night trying to figure out a way to create this jacket (without having to use the sewing skills I DON’T have).  I have prayed for this jacket to appear.  Sadly, that is only ONE of the items I am STILL scrounging to find with absolutely NO LUCK.

So, while all of you are out bobbing apples, carving pumpkins, and drinking hot apple cider, think about me in Halloween Hell.

I will be scrambling to put together a Riddler cane, dying a suit jacket purple, cutting out question marks to go on another suit jacket, trying to figure out a way to make a monacle for the Penguin…..all while my blood pressure turns my face into a nice pumpkin red-orange, I pull the hairs out of my head a hand full at a time, and the stress creates a bleeding ulcer that is oozing out of my ears.

At least that’s one costume taken care of.  I’ll just go as the deranged, psycho- mom I will be!

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 24, 2011 in It's my life.....

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Halloween Haunts…..

  1. wordsfallfrommyeyes

    October 24, 2011 at 3:27 pm

    FIVE BOYS!!!! I could hardly read past that point – couldn’t get over it!! Excellent work, mum 🙂

     
    • Robin

      October 24, 2011 at 4:46 pm

      I know how you feel! I’m still not over it myself! =)

       

Leave a Reply

 
