RSS

It’s Not About YOU!

23 Oct

This is what the LORD says— your Redeemer, the Holy One of Israel:
“I am the LORD your God, who teaches you what is best for you,
who directs you in the way you should go.”  —Isaiah 48:17

On Sunday mornings I like to spend some time listening to music to prepare my heart for worship.  Church is a tricky thing.  It can easily become a chore, something to check off the list.   I know this because it has been one of my struggles in the past.  But I serve a powerful, faithful, almighty, loving, merciful God.  Even when I wander from Him, He is beside me.  After all God does for me, I don’t want to walk into His house with a half-way heart.  So, I throw on Christian music and get my jam on.  And it does get my heart ready.  It helps me to focus on Him.

It’s easy to allow Sunday mornings to be about us.  After a busy week full of running crazy, it is tempting to take the morning to rest and relax.  To rejuvenate for the upcoming tasks in the week ahead.

This is Satan at his best.

He tells you that you are overwhelmed with life.  You have nothing left to give.  You are being pushed and pulled in every direction imaginable.  You just need this day for you.  You believe his lies and give in.  You talk yourself out of the importance of giving God your time.  You go about your day,  giving yourself some much needed R & R.

Now go back and re-read that last paragraph.  Count each time you come across a YOU, YOUR, or YOURSELF.  It doesn’t take long to realize what this mentality is centered around.  YOU!   And NO, I didn’t plan that paragraph that way.  I just wrote from the heart.  As I read back over it,  it stuck out like a sore thumb.  As Christians, we are to FOLLOW God.  It’s not about us.  It’s about Him.

How can we fully expect to be prepared for the week ahead if we are not spiritually ready?  The most peaceful rest you will ever find is in Christ.  God commands us to fellowship with other believers.  To come together to worship Him.  To learn more about the Bible, God’s ways, and how to follow Him.  If we yield to Him, He will teach you what is best for you.  If you stay in His word, He will light your path.  If you cling to Him in prayer, He will direct your steps. He has more ahead for you than you can imagine.  But you have to let Him lead.   You must have faith in God’s promises.  You have to trust that His commands ARE in your best interest.

YOU have to follow.

Enhanced by Zemanta
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 23, 2011 in Daily Devotions

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
