RSS

Commit!

22 Oct

 

But Ruth replied, “Don’t urge me to leave you or to turn back from you. Where you go I will go, and where you stay I will stay. Your people will be my people and your God my God.  —-Ruth 1:16

Commitment

The definition of commitment is dedication, application, and devotion.

This word has evolved to have little meaning in today’s society.  Sure, we do commit to things.  As long as they aren’t tough, we stay committed.  All too often we cut and run as soon as things become difficult.  But commitment is so much more than being a fair weather friend.  It’s devotion and dedication through ALL things.  It means you don’t give up.  You don’t quit.  You persevere.  You endure.  You push through those difficult, hard times.   When the going gets tough, you get stronger and fight.

Ruth was a woman of real commitment.  In her story, all the men in her life had died.  She had lost her husband, brother-in-law, and father-in-law.  In Biblical times, that pretty much doomed her to a life of poverty.   Her mother-in-law, Naomi, urged her to leave and go back to her hometown.  But Ruth had made a commitment to God and to Naomi.  She was dedicated and devoted.  She would not quit and leave, she would persevere…even if that meant a life of poverty.  She was truly in what seemed a hopeless situation.  She applied her dedication with her actions.  She left all she knew, all that was familiar to go with Naomi.  She refused to leave her.  She was committed.

As a result of this commitment, God granted favor over her life and sent someone to her.   She ended up with a happy ending.  As a result, she became a part of the lineage of Christ.  If Ruth had not been truly committed, she would have cut and run.  No one would really blame her.  She was in what seemed a hopeless situation.  Yet, her commitment to God would not leave that as an option.  And He honored her for it. Why?  Because God is committed to us.  He loves us.  He will fight for us.  He will stand for us.  And when we stray, he devises ways to draw us back to Him.

Reading this story again, made me think about my commitment to God.  Do I stick with him through thick and thin?  Or do I find the first excuse to leave and put him in second place in my life…..or even lower on the list?  It’s easy to commit to God when there is no obstacle standing in the way.

Dedicate yourself to God.

Devote your life to Him.

Commit to Him.  And make that commitment mean something.

That means putting Him in first place….even when other things are competing for your attention.

Make a stand for God…..He surely has made a stand for you!

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
 
5 Comments

Posted by on October 22, 2011 in Daily Devotions

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Commit!

  1. First Southern Baptist Church of Coalinga

    October 22, 2011 at 10:53 am

    Ruth is such a wonderful account in the Bible. I always enjoy reading it. It teaches us so many lessons. Thank you for your blog. Commitment to the Lord and His work has been a big burden for me. I see so many Christians unable and/or unwilling to commit to serving God in any form. Even something as simple as commiting to come learn about God and worship God on a regular basis. Where would we be if Jesus was unable to commit. And if Ruth would not have committed, God would have found another woman willing to commit to Boaz, Naomi and God. They were another vital part in the chain of Jesus geneology.

     
    • Robin

      October 22, 2011 at 3:07 pm

      You are exactly right. I work with the youth at our church and know the difficulties in getting others to commit to Christ! So grateful for an Almighty God who is there to forgive me when I fail in my commitment to Him. Thank you!!

       
  2. JT

    October 22, 2011 at 6:57 pm

    Love the post Robin, I spent ten years in a traveling drama ministry and one of our productions was entitled “The Commitment” dealing with many of these issues. Today more than ever, we as a body struggle, I believe, with commitment. The world around us floods us with distractions and minimal accountability, moreover we are raised in a culture that screams out “I just want to be happy” and so we are motivated by selfish ambition in a search for that happiness in all the wrong places. Thank you for sharing this!

     
    • Robin

      October 22, 2011 at 9:36 pm

      I would love to hear more about your drama ministry! We live in a tiny town, but some of our youth is preparing a skit to perform during an upcoming youth event this week. It’s not nearly as easy as it looks! It is SO HARD to get our youth and even our young adults to commit to anything in regards to the church. It often seems anything and everything are more important and come first. It’s difficult to keep from being frustrated. But then I realize that this is just a fraction of the frustration I cause God in the many ways I let him down. And I change my attitude. Determine to work for God, not for man, and keep on keeping on.

       
      • JT

        October 24, 2011 at 9:55 pm

        “And I change my attitude. Determine to work for God, not for man, and keep on keeping on.” I start with the best intentions…and next thing I know it’s all about me again, Thank God, His mercies are new every morning 🙂

         

Leave a Reply

 
