RSS

Killa is Back!

21 Oct

She's sweet and sassy..... But don't let that fool you. There's a Killa inside!!

“Just do what we asked.  We don’t want to HEAR YOUR MOUTH!!”

Killa is back.

My mom and I had a rough day today.  She has had a horrible year.  She lost her husband, my step-dad, suddenly in an accident less than a year ago.   She just received the OSHA report detailing his death.

Like I said, horrible day.  But we decided to make the best of it and get away for the afternoon.  Forget our troubles.  And it was working pretty well.  Sort of.

We went to Sam’s Club to get groceries.  We unloaded our loot onto the checkout conveyor belt and I handed the checker my club card.  She informed me that my card was expired and it would be $40 to update my membership.  Mom said her card had almost expired too, she would split the cost, and she could be the second cardholder on my membership.  The checker said that would work.  Just go to the customer service counter after checking out and they would take care of it.  Problem averted.

Bahahahaaaa….. YEA.  RIGHT.

Groceries

We head over to the customer service center after buying $150 worth of groceries.  The little girl at the counter asked us if we lived together.  Our response, of course, was no.  She then told me she couldn’t put Mom on my membership unless we lived together.  And she didn’t just tell us this politely or even apologetically.

She apparently thought she was the Membership Princess of Sam’s Club.

I think she has a throne somewhere (probably in the bathroom) and she uses her little scanning wand to cast people out of membership eligibility with a smug smile and a MUAHAHAHAA…..  It was obvious this is a job she enjoys.

I was sure she just didn’t understand.  I mean, the girl at the check-out told us it was no problem.  They would fix us right up.  So I did my best to explain this to the Princess. Her response was for me to point out who told me such a thing.  I suddenly felt protective of this poor cashier who was so kind to us.

I wouldn’t dare rat her out!

I let the Membership Princess know I would not be tattling on anyone.  She flipped her little head around and told me she was not giving us an extra card.  I tried explaining we had been doing this for 20 years and never has anyone said a word to us about it.

NOPE, Princess wasn’t having it.  She only became more and more smug.

That’s when the switch went off for me.  I threw my hands up and said, “Well, just give me a full refund on every bit of it.”

During all this tit for tat and trying to get this little heifer, um, I mean Princess,  to understand this had to just be a misunderstanding, my mom began to have steam coming from her ears.  Princess then began to start again with the “We don’t do that, blah, blah, blah…..”

And that’s when it happened.  My mom snapped.

Killa was in the building.

“Just do what we asked.  We don’t want to HEAR YOUR MOUTH!!”

Finally the girl hushed.  I thought Killa was gonna come unleashed.  I was as nervous as a cat on a hot tin roof.  I have seen Killa in action.  I know she is afraid of nothing.  Princess better be afraid.

As she begins to scan items for the refund, one item doesn’t scan.  Princess pops off to the other girl (Who is also doing her best to be nice and keep Killa at bay.), “They probably didn’t pay for it.”

Really?  Did Princess REALLY believe we were trying to smuggle a box of Moo Moos out the door, but were stupid enough to ask for a refund of stolen items??  Really?

I think that’s when the growling started.  I thought I even saw some foaming around the corners of her mouth.  I KNOW steam was boiling from her ears.

Killa is ready to charge.

Grabbing onto her arm, I held on for dear life, trying to keep her at bay.  I just knew our next stop might be the Angelina County Jail.

Finally, the total comes up.  $10 less than what I actually paid.  Just about that time, I was telling nice girl (who had the deer in the headlights look of fear going on) I paid $150 and I was gonna get $150 refunded…..nice girl was telling Princess to rescan that item that didn’t scan earlier…..Princess was wanting to jump on us like we were trying to steal that stinking box of Moo Moos……and Killa snapped…….”Did you HEAR me??  We don’t want to HEAR your MOUTH!”

I tell you what.  Words do not do justice to the relief I felt when that item finally beeped, princess walked back around to the other side of the counter, and Killa and I were able to walk away.   Empty handed.  A good hour of our time wasted.

We spent the next hour laughing our tails off about Killa making another appearance.

Killa is my hero.

She has the courage and bravery to stand up to rude people who are being PAID to wait on us.  I can’t tell you how many rude cashiers I have had, but it’s a LOT.   Of course, I rarely and almost NEVER, say a thing.  I don’t complain…well, at least not to the culprit.  Instead, I storm around all evening, my attitude poisoned by said rude checker.   I’m a wimp.  People like me are why establishments continue to have rude employees…. because we don’t complain.

So, Killa is my hero.

She kicks into action.

Takes no prisoners.

No holds barred.

When the going gets tough, she gets tougher.

I would love to be her trusty sidekick.  I guess a girl can dream, right??

Have YOU ever had a horrible experience with customer service? 

Are you a Killa or are you a peacemaker? 

Enhanced by Zemanta
 
6 Comments

Posted by on October 21, 2011 in It's my life.....

 

Tags: , , , , ,

6 responses to “Killa is Back!

  1. Lavone

    October 22, 2011 at 5:34 pm

    I love this, I can just see it all!!! I had a huge laugh of the day!!!

     
    • Robin

      October 22, 2011 at 7:41 pm

      We laughed for quite some time……..after it was all over!

       
  2. Susan

    October 23, 2011 at 8:11 pm

    I am so glad I stopped by to read this. It made my night!! I just love you and your mama!!!!

     
    • Robin

      October 24, 2011 at 4:48 pm

      We love you, too! I am just glad our fiascos bring someone besides us a laugh. Makes it worth it….and lets me know I’m not completely crazy yet!

       
  3. Diane Mitchell

    October 24, 2011 at 2:27 pm

    Oh what a great laugh!!! and we all need that!
    You should see my mental picture of this!

     
    • Robin

      October 24, 2011 at 4:47 pm

      =D
      Truth be known, I probably UNDER-exaggerated this story, too! It was bad, but hilarious….all at the same time. =)

       

Leave a Reply

 
