RSS

I Wanna Sing and Shout!

21 Oct

Shout with joy to the Lord, all the earth!
Worship the Lord with gladness.
Come before him, singing with joy.
Acknowledge that the Lord is God!
He made us, and we are his.
We are his people, the sheep of his pasture.
Enter his gates with thanksgiving;
go into his courts with praise.
Give thanks to him and praise his name.
For the Lord is good.
His unfailing love continues forever,
and his faithfulness continues to each generation.    —-Psalm 100

 

Last year, I went through an extremely scary time with my child.  He has a chronic health issue and it had peaked at its worst.  The doctors were suspicious that he might have a spinal cord problem that could cause paralysis.  He needed an MRI and we had to wait seven weeks to get one.  It was a long, worrisome seven weeks.  The day finally came,  emotions were doing their best to spill out of my soul, but I did my best to hold it together.  The wait was not over.  We left the hospital still not having answers.  We had to wait for the report.  That night was so frightening.  Waiting for news that could potentially change our lives forever.

 

The next morning, I received a call.  His spinal cord was normal.  I was overcome with joy.  Those emotions spilled out like a river flowing straight from my soul, uncontrolled.  I was so thankful, so excited, it was hard to breathe.  I couldn’t wait to get on the phone and tell everyone the good news.  I wanted to sing.  I wanted to dance.  If I could have grabbed God by the neck I would have squeezed Him so tightly, HE couldn’t breathe.  Sheer joy.

As I look back on that day, I realize something.  His health problems were still there.  Still just as bad.  Still out of control.  But at least this another problem wasn’t added to it.  My circumstances really had not changed, but my perspective had.  As I thought about it, it sunk in that I all too often allow my circumstances to determine the praise I lift up to the King.

The reality is God is there.  Through the bad times and the good.   He is there through our obedience and our rebellion.   Through sorrow and joy.  Through failure and success.   His love endures FOREVER.  Through ALL things.

How often do we really, truly lift praises to him?  Thank him for all He is and does in our life?  Too often, I spend my energy focusing on what I don’t have instead of what has been given to me.  We go through life, and sure, we might now and again say we are blessed, but do we truly allow the impact of those blessings to bring us that joy and excitement?  Or are we just going through the motions without giving it any real thought?

It’s time we get excited for Jesus!  Marvel at the power of the Holy One.  He is in control.  He reigns over all heaven and earth.  Yet, He is there walking beside ME each day.  I am loved by the King.  Let the reality of this soak into your heart and soul.  Meditate on His grace, love, forgiveness, and mercy.  Meditate on the blessings in your life.  When you do, you won’t be able to keep from singing His praises.  It makes me wanna sing and shout…..  our Mighty God is to be praised!!

 

 

 

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 21, 2011 in Daily Devotions

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “I Wanna Sing and Shout!

  1. mkultra76

    October 21, 2011 at 10:25 am

    Thanks for the reminder! And the song!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
