RSS

Shake it, Momma!

10 Oct

 

I’m a music nut.  Music speaks to my soul.  So, today, when I came across Country Girl Shake it for Me on YouTube….I couldn’t keep myself in my chair.  Luke Bryan wanted me to dance like a dandelion…..and I intended to do just that.

So as I get up and get my shake on….swinging my hair around in circles, shaking my booty….somewhat to the tune….. I look up and find horror in the faces of my children.

Truly.  Horror.  They are accustomed to me breaking out not only in song, but in dance.  Usually, it’s to praise and worship music.  I was serious about music speaking to my soul.  For that reason, I have to choose carefully what gets a say so.

Anyway, back to my story.

Eyes about to bulge out of their sockets.  Mouths dropped open in astonishment.  They look at each other.  Then they look back at me….still shaking it.

I realized what they were too nice to say.  Nobody needs to see that.

But somehow, the urge to drop it like it’s hot took over.  For a minute, I thought I was 21 again.  One hot chick.  No inhibitions.  Just getting my shake on.  I couldn’t let Luke down.  I was in full swing, shaking it for anyone brave enough to take a peek.  And believe, me that was not the time for bravery.  I was having a blast….but it wasn’t pretty.

Which brings me to my next thought.  Really?  Do you want to call on all the country girls out there to shake it?  Seriously, most REAL women, big and small, have enough cellulite to start a tidal wave of jiggle.  Is there nothing left to the imagination anymore?  I’m thinking a honky tonk full of girls shakin’ it could really be dangerous.  There should be some kind of disclaimer……if it actually shakes when you move, maybe you shouldn’t be shakin’ it.

And then, my thoughts about the ridiculousness of this song were gone.  Just like that.

The kids had hit replay and I was out of control again.

Doing my best to make Luke proud.

By this time, my kids had transitioned from horror to falling in the floor with laughter, hollering, “Shake it, momma!”   Shoot, they wanted to shake it too, and they aren’t even girls.  We must have listened to Country Girl Shake It for a good 15 minutes.  Shaking it the whole time.  Sure, there was a LOT of wiggling and jiggling going on.  But for a moment, we were all smiling, all happy, and all having fun.  We got our groove on like we were America’s next dancing queen…and kings.  Good, clean fun, with no worries and no stress.

Sometimes you just need to shake it.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 10, 2011 in It's my life.....

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Shake it, Momma!

  1. Diane Mitchell

    October 10, 2011 at 6:17 pm

    I needed a good laugh today and I certainly got it from this! You are crazy girl, but I would bet if the truth be know, that has happened to a lot (or most) people a time or two. We just don’t tell it.

     
    • Robin

      October 10, 2011 at 10:05 pm

      Girl, I have NO shame!! Besides, I’m with you……..I think more are guilty than will admit. =)

       
  2. Corrie Anne

    October 10, 2011 at 11:55 pm

    I love that song!! So fun. And probably an excellent workout too!! Lol.

     
    • Robin

      October 11, 2011 at 7:35 am

      That song just makes you WANT to get up and shake it!

       

Leave a Reply

 
