RSS

I will Survive………well, maybe.

07 Oct

 

The alarm clock is my dog.  He wakes me up in his pen, whining each morning.   Same time each day.  Today is no different.  I pick him up, take him out, put coffee on…….and it happens.

Everything shuts down, turns off, goes eerily quiet.  The electricity is off.

I can handle this.  NO problem.  People went for hundreds of years without electricity.  It can’t be all that hard.  Sure.  Back to basics.  In your face……Mr. Thomas Edison,….Alexander Volta….Ben Franklin!!  I don’t need you!

I make my way to my laptop.  I left it charging.  Ha!  The electricity gods just thought they were gonna zing me and ruin my Friday.  My head begins to swell and I break out in song and dance…….I will survive!  I’m sporting my Gloria Gaynor fro (remember, I just woke up) and shaking my bootay in my pj pants, ‘singing’ at the top of my lungs.  I finish my rendition of the classic… and collapse on the sofa, laptop in hand.

I open it up, turn it on and head to the coffee pot.  That’s when my world starts to spin.  No coffee…..  I begin to talk myself down off the ledge of a full blown panic attack and walk back to the computer.  I’m in control.  The old days weren’t easy.  You can do this.  I sit down to enjoy my morning dose of Facebook.  And the world begins to spin again.  No electricity to run the router…..means no internet.

Feeling a tad bit weak, but still determined… this is just a molehill in my day, not a mountain….I decide to walk out and check on the dog.  That’s it!  I will go out onto the deck and enjoy nature.  Marvel at the leaves, and the sky, and the birds chirping in the trees.  And I did………for a few minutes.  But it’s hard to concentrate on God’s creation when you have the shakes and sweats from not getting your morning dose of caffeine.

Suddenly, out of nowhere, I hear the roar of a truck heading my way.  Could it be???  It looks like a box truck!!!  It is!!!!  It’s the electric co-op truck.

He’s driving slowly.
Does that mean he’s looking  for the problem??
Has fixed the problem and is just strolling the neighborhood??
Or is he JUST strolling the neighborhood and is not aware of the problem??

At this point, it’s hard to think clearly, rationally.  And I don’t have time to think.  He will be gone before I blink!  I almost take off in a sprint after him.   But I’m not sure if I should fall down right there in the street and thank him for rescuing me or if I should tackle him, take him hostage, and hold him prisoner until the lights are back on.  I don’t have time to figure it out, I haven’t had my morning coffee, which means I have NO energy and am still groggy.  And I’m still in my Pjs….which means NO bra.

NO BRA!!

And in somewhat public!!  I suddenly shrink into the swing, desperately hoping he won’t see me as he passes.

And just like that, he was gone.

Reality sets in.  I’m dumbfounded, overcome in embarrassment, have no coffee, and STILL no electricity.  Who am I kidding?  I can’t do this.  How will I make it?  As despair overtakes me, I head back into the house.  Who wants to enjoy God’s creation when you are the queen of all wimps?

And that’s when it happens.  Just as I grab the door knob,  I hear the A/C kick on and begin to roar.  It’s back!!!  I puff back up faster than you can say wienerschnitzel (I don’t know, it just popped into my head).  I break out into song and dance again.  I SURVIVED!!!!  I’m King of the World!!!  Life is good.  Today is Friday.  It’s payday.  I am drinking my third cup of coffee.  AND I have electricity.  Lesson learned.  Thank you, God.  I am blessed.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on October 7, 2011 in It's my life.....

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

12 responses to “I will Survive………well, maybe.

  1. Lynn

    October 7, 2011 at 12:06 pm

    OMGosh, I am sooo totally roaring with laughter…not AT you, but WITH you!! I could so see me in the same way! Life without coffee is no life at all! 😀 Great job, Robin!

     
    • Robin

      October 7, 2011 at 12:36 pm

      Thanks, Lynn! I was about ready to head out in my pjs to find coffee and Wi-fi!!

       
  2. onemom4rugrats

    October 7, 2011 at 12:25 pm

    Stumbled on your blog, you sound just like me!!! Love it!!!

     
    • Robin

      October 7, 2011 at 6:32 pm

      I’m glad to know I’m not the only crazy lady out there. I look forward to checking out your blog. =)

       
  3. sonjacaywood

    October 7, 2011 at 1:00 pm

    Even though I often lived w/out electricity in the past, I totally related to your post. I was there w/ you, heart pounding, thinking of ways to make the coffee…”does she have a gas stove? a candle? a fondue pot? a bar-b-que?” You made my day and I’m still smiling:)

     
    • Robin

      October 7, 2011 at 6:31 pm

      And you just made mine!! I love your creativity! Thank you!

       
    • Robin

      October 10, 2011 at 10:06 pm

      Thank you so much!!

       
  4. JT

    October 11, 2011 at 9:51 am

    I have just one question ….how long were you actually without power? 😀

     
    • Robin

      October 11, 2011 at 10:31 am

      Hmmm…. If memory serves me correctly, about 45 minutes! =)

       
  5. Kris Thede

    October 17, 2011 at 6:41 am

    Thanks for sharing..now I have yet another reason not to drink coffee. Ha!

     
    • Robin

      October 17, 2011 at 8:50 am

      Haha….I cannot do without my coffee. 😉

       

Leave a Reply

 
