RSS

He makes ALL things new!

06 Oct

 

Then He who sat on the throne said, “Behold, I make all things new.”   —- Revelation 21:5
Create in me a clean heart, O God; and renew a right spirit within me.   —-  Psalm 51:10

This morning when I woke up, I felt a bit weary. It’s been a busier week than usual and my to-do list is growing rather than dwindling. As I looked the list over, I realized there was one thing on the list that has been there for entirely too long.

The swimming pool.

I walked out and took a peek. YUCK. It looks like pond scum soup. I shook my head with dread at the task before me and walked away in defeat.I mean, it’s so bad, how can I tackle it? How can I recover something useful and even enjoyable from the mess it’s in now? As I walked back into the house feeling even more weary, a still small voice said to me….

“I can make all things new.”

That’s when I realized…this nasty, filthy pool that looks to be beyond repair, forever useless, and nothing more than an eyesore in my mind…..must be what my heart looks like before God.

No matter how hard I try there are things I struggle with, things that keep me from living fully for God. There are things that clutter up my heart like pond scum. And often, as much as I hate to admit it, I catch myself not wanting to try. It’s hard to live for God and easy to fall into negative behaviors. I often become so frustrated with myself because I should do better. I can get so caught up into beating myself up about the mistakes and wrong turns in my life, that I am of no use to God.

Thankfully, the blood of Jesus washes the sin of my life, the pond scum.  God is ready and willing to create in me a clean heart and renew my spirit.

A clean slate. A fresh start.

Just like that.

Today, give your heart to God. Stop beating yourself up and punishing yourself for all the wrong turns you have made.

Allow the sacrifice Jesus made for you to wash away the pond scum that makes your heart unusable.  In return you will have a renewed spirit and fervor for life….and a clean heart before the Almighty.

Now, if only cleaning the pool were that easy….

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 6, 2011 in Daily Devotions

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
