RSS

Fat Chick on a Diet

05 Oct

Healthy eating.  Lifestyle change.  Cutting down.

Whatever.

I call it a D I E T!

I’m a fat chick.  I have pretty well embraced that about myself.  But then a reality TV show changed my opinion.  Watching these really big folks try to lose…literally hundreds of pounds….I decided I might better take this fat issue a little more seriously.

Being the spur of the moment kinda gal I am…..on an impulse…….I posted on Facebook inquiring about interest in starting a weight loss support group in our town.  Yep.  My head says that is a smart move.  My drive to eat whatever I want is mocking me and calling me a big ole  IGNORAMUS!!   That one moment of weakness, one little post in a time of recklessness,  has turned into me leading up a support group in our town.  That means a firm commitment to get this weight off, exercise regularly,  AND I weighed in front of one of my dearest friends.

So, here I sit…eating a bowl of spinach, 1/2 a serving of  Special K cracker chips,  and a glass of water with a teaspoon of Splenda ……and I’m seriously considering gnawing off my right arm.  I know, that might be a little dramatic, but crankiness set in a while ago.  My head hurts, my tummy is growling, and the food addict in me tells me this is just too hard.

It’s time to grow up.

Get a grip.

No turning back now.

This is where the rubber meets the road……

it’s do or die…..

take no prisoners……

Well, unless, they have snacks.

Ok, ok….no prisoners.

 

 

 

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 5, 2011 in It's my life.....

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “Fat Chick on a Diet

  1. C.

    October 5, 2011 at 11:05 pm

    you can do it 🙂 but you know, you don’t have to cut off all the good things to lose weight! unless you want to lose it really fast! i lost fifty pounds in 8 months all the while eating spaghetti and oreos! but to each their own, i wish you the best on your journey!

     
    • Robin

      October 6, 2011 at 7:27 am

      Wow! I can’t wait to check out your blog. Thanks for the encouragement!

       
  2. KayleeAnn

    October 6, 2011 at 9:14 am

    It always excites me to find other people who are actively trying to make changes in their diet and their health. For me it was over due!
    Although I’m always a bit worried to hear when people are going hungry in the name of a diet. It can be a slippery slope to an array of eating disorders – it has been for me in the past.
    On my diet now, I eat as much food as I want. Literally if I am hungry or even if I just want to eat, I eat. I just eat an apple or some sugar snap peas instead of a cookie or a bagel. I eat tons of food and lose weight. Personally, it doesn’t make sense to stop giving my body the fuel it needs to keep me moving, but it does make sense to give it the proper fuel.
    I know there is tons of healthy eating advice, and you have to do what is right for your lifestyle and your body. And, that may mean cutting quantity – just be careful and keep a close eye on how you feel about the food you eat. ; )
    Stepping down from my soap box, now. Apologies for my rant.

    Good Luck!
    :: KayleeAnn ::

     
    • Robin

      October 6, 2011 at 9:59 am

      Thanks so much! I am trying, but it’s hard. But I’m determined to stop passing this unhealthy relationship with food on to my kids. Love the rant! It was good encouragement!

       

Leave a Reply

 
