RSS

Roadtrip: turkeys, GPS for dummies, and screaming indians….

03 Oct

They look soooooo....sweet. But note Grandma's expression of sheer JOY!

Roadtrip.

Rambunctious.  Rowdy.  Runnin’ me Ragged.  Roadtrip.

This simple compound word consumed my day.

My mom had to be dropped off at the airport (200 miles from home) early in the morning.  Being the most devoted of her children (or simply a glutton for punishment), I took the job.

It really wouldn’t have been such a big deal if it were ME taking  HER and ME coming home.   ME + HER = HAPPY ROADTRIP.

Add in 3 boys to this equation and everything changes.  Add in school work (I’m a home school mom) and everything multiplies.  Add in traffic, a mom who cannot work a cell phone, much less a GPS system, and it divides my personality.  Really.  As much as I would love to say I was all rainbows and sunshine today, that would be a big fat lie.

First off, the kids, confined in a pretty small SUV for 3 1/2 hours, is enough to make me wanna pull my hair out.  Boys are just loud.  They come into the world that way.  They can’t help it.  They are just wired LOUD.  Then, being as naive as I am, I thought they could work on schoolwork in the car.  Kill two birds with one stone.  All it killed were my nerves.  Life would have been a much happier place if I had just given in and let them put on a movie.

Next, we come in to Houston.  Mom didn’t make reservations at a hotel (we came down the night before her flight).  She thought we would just ‘find’ a hotel.  Great.  Brilliant.  Awesome.  Really.  This excites me more than life itself.  It might not have been too bad if she actually knew how to work a smart phone or even the GPS system in her own car.  But she can’t even work the radio.  So, as we enter Houston in the middle of 5 o’clock traffic, Mom is sitting in the passenger seat trying her best to work my smart phone to find a hotel near the airport….  What do I do now?  Which button do I push?  Where did the keyboard go?  Why did the screen just turn sideways.  THE SCREEN JUST TURNED SIDEWAYS!!!!  Oh no, the screen is gone!!  Here LOOOOOOOKKKK!!!    Yes, all while I’m driving, in traffic,  kids screaming in the backseat, and a novel on CD playing in the background.

Enter in spinning head.  Mine.  After picking up yet ANOTHER boy at his college dorm, missing several turns on the way to the airport (probably due to spinning head), stopping on the side of the road (3 times) to try and find a hotel……… in a BAD part of town…..I honestly thought my heart was going to explode and my head spin completely off my body.

Fast forward a few hours.  We ventured out once again to eat dinner.  The hotel clerk is my HERO…..he actually gives amazing directions AND he had a fresh pot of coffee.  We make it back with relatively no problems…..well, other than the wild indians in the back seats….. and we make it back for the night.  I even think my head stopped spinning.

Of course, the turkeys…literally (we found turkey hats at Target) are still going 90 to nothing.  That Energizer Bunny has NOTHING on my boys.

Monday night football isn’t even into halftime yet, and the college kid still hasn’t been delivered back to his dorm.  Stay tuned.   Spinning heads just might make another appearance before morning.

Monday Night Football and Driving Mom CrAzY

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 3, 2011 in It's my life.....

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
