RSS

Organization Anonymous…..Well, Sort of…

02 Oct

 

Organization is heavenly.  I am an organizer.  I love to organize things.  It’s some of the best fun…..taking random chaos and bringing some sort of meaning to the madness.  A place for everything (and hopefully labeled as such) and everything in its place.

I have spent a large portion of my life organizing things.  And I’m good at it.  I organize movies by genre.  I then even organize the various genres on the shelf.  The kid-friendly movies within reach of said kiddies, while putting the horror and action genre (generally NOT kiddie friendly) on the top shelf out of little hands’ reach.  Medicine?  No problem.  A basket for first-aid, maintenance meds, vitamins, etc, etc.  The pantry….oh, I can have a play party there.  Can goods can be organized in a multitude of ways.  School supplies.  Heaven on earth.  Toys……. By tubs of various sizes and colors depending on their respective category….action figures, construction toys,  transportation toys.  Each toy category can then be organized within THAT category.  This is just the tip of the iceberg.  I could start a blog on organizing things.  I LOVE it!!

So, why does organization elude me?? I try so hard to be organized.  I DO organize.  But there is a HUGE difference in organizing and BEING organized.  It’s maintaining organization that always makes a failure out of me.

I think the problem is that along with all this love for organizing,  I also suffer from ADHD.  Which means, by nature, I’m a slob.  I can keep up with nothing, I put things away in a ’safe spot‘, only to forget where the safe spot actually is.  I hate clutter, yet it follows me everywhere I go.  I spend hours organizing things, only to utterly destroy and dismantle said organization the second time I use it….ok, the first time.  I think it’s an illness.  I guess I’m hoping it is.  That way I would have a good excuse.  ‘I’m sick‘, I could say.  Well, I’m sick alright.  I spend TONS of money buying things to organize, HOURS of time organizing (and usually make a HUGE mess in the process), yet, you still need an appointment to come to my house.  I always hope and pray when someone uses the bathroom, they don’t open the cabinet door.  After all, it could be dangerous.   No telling WHAT might fall out of there.   I spend so much time in the perpetual quest for organization, that it keeps me from completing regular housework.  How can I clean the kitchen when the pantry needs to be organized (and it does…even though I do it every week)?

I don’t know how to help me.  Maybe there is no help for me.  Hello, my name is Robin.  I’m an organization addict.  No, you can’t see it, but it’s there.  Believe me, my clutter bothers me more than it bothers you.  It’s even worse living inside my head.  Oh, and don’t forget that appointment.  Otherwise, I might flip the lights off, holler for everyone to freeze, and hide behind a couch.  Heheee………..of course, I’m just kidding.  I won’t holler.  Geeeezzz, how dumb do you think I am??

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 2, 2011 in It's my life.....

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
