RSS

Whooaaaa, there killa!!

30 Sep

My Mom.... Don't let that sweet smile fool you! She can take care of business!

It all started with a simple trip to the grocery store.  I needed to pick up a few things for dinner.  That was a great excuse for mom and I to catch some girl time away from the kids.  Since I live in the sticks, running to the local grocery store means traveling to a neighboring town ten miles away.  So, off we go.  Just a normal grocery run on a normal day.  If you know me, you know NOTHING in my life is normal.

Anyway, back to the story.  We have lunch and  spend some quality time visiting.  Mom lost her husband this past year in a tragic accident.  So it’s been hard.  Some days are better than others.  Lately, it’s been harder than usual.  We spend time talking about life, and laughing about nothing.  Finally, we hit the grocery store and stroll through the aisles discussing recipes and our upcoming family cookbook.   The calm before the storm, I suppose.

We head out with a buggy full of groceries (some hers, some mine).  She is loading her groceries into the side of the SUV, while I’m loading the back.  We’re talking and trying to sort through the bags, when I look up and notice a car.  It’s just sitting there, waiting.  The space next to ours is empty.  The driver is waiting for my mom to close the side door so she can pull in.   As I point this out to mom, that’s when it happens.  She looks at me and responds, “She can wait!!  We have to wait all the time!!  She can wait on us!”

Here we go.  We finish up and load into the car.  As the driver of the ‘waiting’ car pulls into the spot next to us, she gives my mom the what for.  And it’s on.  I thought I was going to have to lock my mom in the car.  She was furious!  Being a tad bit on the feisty side, she was bent on making that woman look her in the eye so she could give her the what for right back again.  She begins to raise her voice, “She won’t look back!  She better look at me!  She has no right to be rude to me!”   I fumble to get the keys in the ignition as quickly as possible, pleading with her to calm down…. because I just KNOW mom is gonna get out and convince this lady once and for all she was rude and plain mean!

Finally, I hear it…… the strange sounds of mumbling and grumbling….I could have sworn it was Na-nanny-boo-boo.  The lady had turned to look at mom and she had gotten her revenge….. Na-nanny-boo-boo and a shriveled up ‘mad’ face.  I thought I might have caught a glimpse of her sticking out her tongue.  As I pull out of the parking lot, the lady driver stomping into the store, mad as all get out…..my mom ranting about the sheer rudeness of this ‘heifer’……..  I am suddenly overcome with laughter.  My mom, in her 60’s, recently widowed,  who so often seems so fragile….. was ready to kick some booty in the parking lot.  Do I think she would REALLY fight this cranky old woman??  That I cannot answer for sure.  But one thing is true….she stands for what she believes 100%…..even if it’s over a door in a parking lot.  She won’t back down when things get sticky.  And, although I was a bit embarassed~ Okay, I was completely embarassed…….deep down in my heart I saw something in that fighting woman that I hope to one day see in myself.  Courage.

Now, if I can just teach her to pick her battles…….but that’s for another post.

Mom........ remember who you're messing with!!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 30, 2011 in It's my life.....

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Whooaaaa, there killa!!

  1. Sandy

    October 21, 2011 at 9:38 am

    My Mom is the same way and I love it!!!

     
    • Robin

      October 21, 2011 at 10:52 pm

      Funny you read this today. Killa made a comback! Check out tonight’s post in My Life.
      It was hilarious…..that is, after it was over. 😉

       

Leave a Reply

 
