RSS

Where does my strength come from?

29 Sep

Surely God is my salvation; I will trust and not be afraid.
The LORD, the LORD himself, is my strength and my defense; he has become my salvation. *Isaiah 12:2

When I am afraid, I put my trust in you. * Psalm 56:3

But I will sing of your strength, in the morning I will sing of your love;
for you are my fortress, my refuge in times of trouble. *Psalm 59:16

Weak. Sad. Tired. Despair. Hopeless. You feel like giving up. All your strength is gone. Most of us have been there. If not, be thankful and prepared, for your time will come. Our life can be devastated by circumstances beyond our control. The main character in one of my favorite movies, “Anne of Green Gables”, often said she was ‘in the depths of despair.” As dramatic as Anne was, I have been in the depths of despair. When you find yourself there, it’s hard to see the light, a way out, a way to survive. It’s even hard to breathe. These feelings and emotions are very real and terribly frightening. It’s our human nature to want to fix things, and when things are out of control, then what? Hopelessness sets in. These trials in life can either make us or break us. They can define our future by destroying it or making us stronger for the next trial. The difference is not the emotions that come with the trials. The difference is our reaction to them. When all hope is gone and you realize you are not strong enough to get through it alone, how do you react? Many ask God why? If He loves us so, why does He allow us to suffer? Well, I don’t know the answer. But I know this, Jesus suffered. He suffered a whole lot more than any of us. He didn’t deserve it. But it was part of God’s plan. His suffering gave us a chance at God’s love and forgiveness. I try to remind myself of this when I am suffering. As Christians, we can find ourselves in hopeless situations that make no sense. But, we have God to turn to. We can trust that although we might not see any purpose in our circumstances other than pain and hurting, God sees all, knows all. He can see the BIG picture, even when we can’t. His ways, even when we don’t understand them, are for our best interest. He loves us, holds us, and comforts us in times of troubles. We can run to Him. He will be strong enough for you. You may FEEL hopeless, but if you are a Christian things are NEVER hopeless. When you are in the depths of despair, God is there. In fact he’s carrying you through that valley. He is your salvation. When you are being attacked from every angle, He is there. He will stand with you, bring you peace, and give your strength for the fight. When you are in that pit of hopelessness, look up, call to him, and let Him work. He is strong enough.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 29, 2011 in Daily Devotions

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
