RSS

A Pufferfish-kind-of Day

20 Sep

Cameron.

Funny.  Wild.  Irresponsible.  Crazy.  Boisterous.  Loving.  Obnoxious.  Clumsy.  Bull-headed.  Fun. Calamity.  Obsessive.  Lazy.  Hyper.  Intelligent.  Goofy.  Caring.  Hilarious.  Stubborn.  Full of Life.  These are just a few words that roll off the top of my head to describe my third child, Cameron.  He is now 15 and taller than me.  Cameron has kept my life interesting to say the least.  He is around the clock entertainment.  He loves to make people laugh and he is very good at it.  He loves to have fun and spends most of his time on a mission to accomplish as much fun as he can cram into any one moment.  Of course, as a mom that can be exhausting.  All that fun somehow manages to push out any hopes for responsibility, growing up….you know all the nonfun things in life.  He HATES school.  He’s just one of those kids who doesn’t fit into a box.  As refreshing as that can be, it’s also burdensome at times.  None of the usual things are important to Cameron.  Grades……..who needs em?  Chores…….what’s the point?  Work?  Does it have anything to do with fun?  So, for the past 15 years, I have spent much time in prayer.  Prayer for this vibrant, full of life, baby of mine to realize a good balance is needed.  You know that sometimes you do things you don’t want to do just because it’s the right thing.  It’s always been like talking to a brick wall to teach him these things.  Then, tonight.  A glimmer of hope.Just about the time I give up all hope that Cameron will actually grow up and get truly serious about anything, it happened.  Just like that.  Out of the blue.

My mom was over for dinner tonight.  We were all gathered around the TV pondering what we should watch on Netflix.  Grandma suggested Dexter, some TV series I had never watched.  That’s when time stood still for just a moment.  Cameron says, “Grandma, I think that Mom might not appreciate us watching that with Stephen and Braedon here.”  There it was.  I responded, “Cameron!”  He looked at me nonchalantly and said, “Well, Mom I remember a few pretty bad things in that show and I just don’t think we want the boys watching it.”  I often think that boy lives to give me something for my prayer list.  The more he keeps me guessing, the bigger he smiles.  But, tonight, he let it slip.  Tonight, he gave me something for my praise list.   He IS learning and even buying into the important things in life.  That boy who loves to keep me on my toes and can make me laugh when I’m so mad I could eat ten penny nails……..he is growing up.  My chest swells with pride.  Alright, I am  blown up like a pufferfish.   Today was a good day.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on September 20, 2011 in It's my life.....

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “A Pufferfish-kind-of Day

  1. Loraine Loggins

    September 20, 2011 at 10:11 am

    You should write a book just about life.

     
  2. Leisa

    October 2, 2011 at 9:12 am

    You know Robin, I’m a blog reader, i read all kinds of blogs and have since blogs have hit the internet. I love this! What even makes it more inspirational is knowing you, knowing your kids, knowing your mom. Keep em coming 🙂 Wish I could rate this because I would give it a 5 Star

     
    • Robin

      October 2, 2011 at 9:29 am

      Thanks so much! You’ve made my day. =)

       
  3. Diane Mitchell

    October 4, 2011 at 3:52 pm

    Robin, I have known since you were a baby that you were special, but I didn’t realize that you were so talented until recently! Keep ’em coming and seriously think about that book!

     
    • Robin

      October 4, 2011 at 8:12 pm

      You don’t know how much that means to me!! Thank you!! Love you!

       

Leave a Reply

 
