RSS

Instructions to Follow

18 Sep

Remember, it is sin to know what you ought to do and then not do it.
*James 4:17
But don’t just listen to God’s word. You must do what it says.
*James 1:22
The Bible is a great instruction book. It is not only filled with God’s promises to us, promises of peace, joy, love, and blessings, but it is also filled with instructions on how to live, how to follow Jesus, how to live for Him. Not many things in life come with an instruction manual. Christian living does! However, sometimes these commands are tough. The Bible says it is sin to know what you should do, but not do it. This applies to so many things in life: Someone you know is struggling with personal problems. You feel like you should say or do something, but it’s awkward, or embarrassing, so you decide against it. You know you should put God first, but it’s hard, and you don’t know how your friends might react to a stand for God, so you just don’t. Sunday mornings are one of the few days you can sleep in. You know you should get up and go, but since it’s hard, you find an excuse and tell yourself you will do better next week. The Bible says this is sin. OUCH. I read this verse a couple of months ago, and honestly, it had a big impact on my life. I so often make excuses for the things I know I should do…. and they were good ones…. all because it was uncomfortable to push myself. But this verse kept running through my mind over and over again (thanks, Lord) and I realized that if I’m serious about living a Christian life then I can’t just speak about it, I can’t just hear God’s word, I must DO it!! We have all heard the old saying, actions speak louder than words. I want to encourage you today, to ACT more than you speak. Get out there and DO God’s work. I promise, you will be blessed for it!!
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 18, 2011 in Daily Devotions

 

Leave a Reply

 
